African American Alumni Council

Welcome to VCU Alumni's African American Alumni Council

AAAC group photoVCU Alumni's African American Alumni Council instills pride among alumni in both the university and the council and promotes the growth and contributes to the recruitment and retention of the African American student body.

This resource contains information about council meetings, officers, Reunion Weekend and other council activities. The website is another way for us — VCU's African American alumni and students — to stay connected. Please bookmark this website and come back often!

Quick links

Reunion information 
Photo gallery
AAAC on Facebook
AAAC Mentoring Circle
AAAC Mentoring Circle VCU LInk sign-in page

Upcoming events

2021-22 AAAC Saturday meetings
All meetings begin at 10 a.m. and will be held virtually until further notice.

Meeting dates to be post soon!

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android.

iPhone one-tap (U.S. toll from landlines): +1 (669) 900-6833, 744941989# or +1 (646) 558-8656, 744941989#

Telephone (U.S. toll from landlines): Dial +1 (669) 900-6833 or +1 (646) 558-8656

Meeting handouts available online:

2022 AAAC Reunion Weekend 
April 29 - May 1
Visit the AAAC Reunion Weekend page for event details when they become available.

More events

Scholarship support

AKA scholarship contribution photo
The AAAC would like to thank the alumni of Theta Rho Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority Inc. for their generous $4,000 donation to the AAAC's scholarship fund! Visit our giving page and pick one of the AAAC's endowed scholarships to join them in supporting our VCU students. Please check the VCU Alumni scholarship page for information on the availability of AAAC's two endowed scholarships.

AAAC officers

S. Franklin Dunn (B.S.93/H&S), president
Rodney A. Harry (B.S. '90/H&S), immediate past president
Nicole Carter (B.S.01/H&S; M.S.06/HP), secretary
Amber James (B.S.07/H&S), treasurer
Franklin Wallace (B.F.A.’87/A; M.P.A.’08/GPA)
Faith Wilkerson, Ed.D. (B.S.’03/H&S; M.S.’05/E; Ed.D.15/E)

AAAC Outstanding Alumni Recipients

2016: Peter Olatuyi
 Dr. Joann Richardson
2010: Dr. Patricia Hylton Grant
2009: Dr. Ronald Peters
2008: Rebekah Pierce
2007: Dr. Renee Jackson-Anderson and Dr. Darrell Walden
2006: Dr. Micah McCreary
2005: Linnie S. Carter, APR
2004: Franklin R. Wallace Jr.
2003: Lionel Bacon
2002: Glenn A. Davis
2001: Sabrina Squire
2000: J.B. Bryan

For more information, contact President S. Franklin Dunn (B.S.93/H&S) at